Sunday, March 30, 2008

Shopping Trip to RiteAid

Yesterday I realized that perhaps the Doctor was not right; my little girl does need her Prevacid. I decided to go ahead and have it filled. Luckily, I had a RiteAid transfer coupon for $30.00 gift certificate.

We loaded up and went to get the prescription. I had already worked out my game plan for what to do with the gift certificate. I purchased the prescription and 2 bottles of Zrytec and handed them the coupon. This is where it gets interesting. She rings up the Prevacid ($118.00) + 2 bottles of Zrytec (12.99 X 2 = 26.98) = $148.00. I ask for my gift certificate, and she says we took it off the total. I ask again; she tells me the same thing. "I took it off the total." I was so stunned; it just didn't seem right. With three children though, it is hard to do the math. I simply walked away without the receipt.

Oh, I need the receipt for the FSA account. I walk back to ask for the receipt. You can tell she is not happy to see me. Could I please have my receipt? She gives me the receipt, and I look at again. Finally, the pharmacy tech comes over. She explains what she did with the transaction. Now, get this! I have to explain to THEM how to ring up a gift certificate. I explain the receipt to them, and they finally give me my gift certificate. I find it amusing that with as many of these coupons out there the management at these pharmacies do not explain what to do with them.

I was so upset I simply bought the RiteAid diaper wipes (6.49 with $2.00(rebate)) + 2 bags of Huggies diapers (13.99 - 2 1.50 MF coupons)= 34.68. I used $30.00 gift card and another gift card for the remainder. I definitely could have done better deals, but I was so aggravated I wanted to spend the entire gift certificate so I wouldn't have to go back. I know I will though- can't miss a bargain.

Saturday, March 29, 2008

Introduction

Hi, my name is Diana. I am a stay-at-home mom since 2004. My previous life as a super hero was as an English teacher. When I decided to stay home in 2004, it was pretty scary. I was used to having interaction with others, to having plenty of money, and to having time to myself. I was LOST. I spent a good deal of the time trying to figure out how to maximize our limited resources. I made myself an expert on living below your means.

My husband is a business owner. Essentially, he makes money as long as the business makes money. If it doesn't, he doesn't get a paycheck. This was a nightmare for me. I know what it is like to be without money, and I can imagine with children it would literally be heartbreaking. I felt it absolutely necessary to have an emergency fund. I decided it would be best to live without credit card debt and auto loans. My husband and I have always done this since I came home. It's hard but essential.

We recently bought another business with friends of ours. Fortunately, they feel the same way about debt as we do. We have yet to draw a substantial paycheck from this business, but we are looking long-term rather than short-term. We hope down the line to be able to have strong profits and a great retirement plan with this business.

My other job is as an aerobics instructor. When my second child was born, I decided to join a gym to lose weight. While taking the class, I realized this might be an opportunity to make some money. I became an instructor and now teach a variety of classes. My children are able to play with their friends in the morning while I get my exercise. I get paid and a substantial discount on the gym. Win-Win situation for all.

Since this site will be dedicated to frugal living and business ideas (work-at-home), I will limit my discussion to these points. I would greatly appreciate any input you can give me. I will try to post each day with ideas.